Skip to main content

Royal order of succession: who's next in line to the throne?


The royal line of succession is the order in which members of the Royal Family would come to the throne — if the reigning king or queen died or abdicated.

Williams, Prince of Wales, is first in line, followed by his son, George, and then his daughter, Charlotte.

Traditionally, males came before females in the line of succession. But in 2015, the law changed so that for children born after October 28, 2011, the succession is decided by age versus gender. (Click on each square below for short biographies of each Royal Family member)


Of course, the succession line extends beyond the above immediate family members. Here is a full list of Royal Family members in order of succession.

  1. The Prince of Wales (William)
  2. Prince George of Wales
  3. Princess Charlotte of Wales
  4. Prince Louis of Wales
  5. Duke of Sussex (Harry)
  6. Prince Archie of Sussex
  7. Princess Lilibet of Sussex
  8. Duke of York (Andrew)
  9. Princess Beatrice
  10. Miss Sienna Mapelli Mozzi
  11. Princess Eugenie
  12. Master August Brooksbank (born to Eugenie and James Brooksbank)
  13. Duke of Edinburgh (Edward)
  14. Earl of Wessex
  15. The Lady Louise Mountbatten-Windsor
  16. The Princess Royal
  17. Mr. Peter Phillips
  18. Miss Savannah Phillips
  19. Miss Isla Phillips
  20. Mrs. Michael Tindall
  21. Miss Mia Tindall
  22. Miss Lena Tindall
  23. Master Lucas Tindall Top Stories

Local Spotlight