SAO PAULO, Brazil -- Barcelona's Lionel Messi and Andres Iniesta, and Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo are the finalists for FIFA's male player of the year.

But Canadian captain Christine Sinclair did not make the women's shortlist.

The women's final three consists of Americans Abby Wambach and Alex Morgan and Brazil's Marta, a five-time winner.

The winners of the FIFA Ballon d'Or will be announced Jan. 7 in Zurich.

The men's finalists were picked from a list of 23 candidates, with Messi looking to become the first player to win the award four times. The Argentina playmaker won the award last three years.

Spain coach Vicente Del Bosque, former Barcelona coach Pep Guardiola and Real Madrid coach Jose Mourinho were in the running for the world coach of the year award.