AMHERST, N.S. -- Nova Scotia MP Scott Armstrong has been named chairman of the federal Conservative Atlantic caucus.

The MP for Cumberland-Colchester-Musquodoboit Valley issued a statement today saying Prime Minister Stephen Harper made the appointment official during a visit to Nova Scotia late last week.

The Atlantic caucus has 14 members.

Armstrong is replacing New Brunswick MP Mike Allen.

The duties of the caucus chairman include advancing concerns of Atlantic Canadians and setting the agenda at weekly caucus meetings.