TORONTO -- Fashion maven Jeanne Beker, the TV series "Flashpoint" and the big-screen theatre company IMAX are being honoured with special prizes at this year's Canadian Screen Awards.

They are among eight recipients of Academy Special Awards, given to "remarkable people and productions that have made their mark in the film, television and digital media industries."

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, which runs the Canadian Screen Awards, says "Fashion Television" founder Beker will receive an Academy Achievement Award for "exceptional contributions to the Canadian television industry."

CTV's cross-border hit "Flashpoint" is getting the Academy Board of Directors Tribute, which honours outstanding and enduring contributions to Canadian television. "Flashpoint" is also a leading TV nominee at this year's bash.

And IMAX Corporation is getting the Outstanding Technical Achievement Award for its suite of entertainment technologies.

The Canadian Screen Awards celebrate the best in film, television and digital media. Comic Martin Short will host the inaugural two-hour gala March 3 on CBC-TV.

Other special awards include:

Academy Special Award (for achievement in film and TV): Co-founder, president and CEO of Astral Media, Ian Greenberg

Academy Special Film Award: Victor Loewy, credited with pioneering independent film distribution through Vivafilm and Alliance

Digital Media Trail Blazing Award: Andra Sheffer, executive director of three private funds dedicated to supporting film, television and digital media.

Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism (posthumously): Retired senator Laurier LaPierre, who gained fame as co-host of CBC-TV's '60s newsmagazine "This Hour has Seven Days." "While sadly we lost him just a few months ago, his legacy lives on," academy chair Martin Katz says in a release.

Margaret Collier Award (for a writer's contribution to TV): "Road to Avonlea" writer Heather Conkie, who went on to lead the writing room on six seasons of CBC's "Heartland."