TORONTO -- Director David Cronenberg and documentary filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin are getting special honours from the Canadian Screen Awards.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, which runs the annual bash, says Cronenberg will receive a lifetime achievement award for "exceptional contribution to the Canadian film and television industry" while Obomsawin is getting the humanitarian award for "exceptional contributions to community and public service."

Emmy-nominated writer Semi Chellas is getting this year's Margaret Collier Award, which honours Canadian TV writers.

The California-born, Calgary-raised Chellas is co-executive producer of "Mad Men" and co-created the critically acclaimed Canadian CTV drama, "The Eleventh Hour."

The digital media award goes posthumously to interactive content creator Alan Sawyer, while the Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism (TV) will go to CTV's news magazine "W5."

The Canadian Screen Awards celebrate the best in film, television and digital media. A two-hour televised gala is slated for March 9, 2014 on CBC-TV.