CTV News scored eight nominations at the inaugural Canadian Screen Awards on Tuesday, including 'CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme' for best national newscast and Lisa LaFlamme for best news anchor.

The Canadian Screen Awards is a new venture that honours the best in Canadian television, film and digital media productions, replacing the Genie and Gemini awards.

Also up for best national newscast are 'The National' and ‘Global National.' The hosts of these newscasts, Peter Mansbridge and Dawna Friesen, respectively, are also nominated for best news anchor, along with News Hour's Chris Gailus and Global Toronto's Leslie Roberts.

'CTV News National News' with Lisa LaFlamme added two nominations for best breaking reportage, national. CTV's Ottawa Bureau Chief Robert Fife and producer Philip Ling were nominated for their investigation into Defence Minister Peter MacKay's use of a search-and-rescue helicopter, and reporter John Vennavally-Rao was nominated for his work from the scene of the movie-theatre shooting in Colorado.

Rounding out that category are the CBC's Adrienne Arsenault and Susan Ormiston, and a Global team of Jennifer Tryon, Kieron O’Dea and Trevor Owens.

'W5' was nominated for best news information series, along with '16 X 9 The Bigger Picture,' 'Connect with Mark Kelley,' 'Marketplace' and 'the fifth estate.'

The team at 'W5' also received a nomination for best news information segment for 'Cop Out.'

Both Lloyd Robertson and Victor Malarek were nominated for best host or interviewer in a news information program or series for their work on 'W5.' Nominated in that category are Peter Mansbridge, David Suzuki and Wabanakwut (Wab) Kinew.

Overall, Bell Media received 88 nominations, including 32 for CTV programming.

CTV's hit police drama 'Flashpoint' led the television category with 11 nominations for its final season, including best dramatic series, best writing and best direction.

Bell Media also received a number of nominations for its coverage of the London 2012 Games. Flagship sports station, TSN, was nominated for best live sporting event, while Rod Smith was nominated for best sports play-by-play announcer and Brian Williams for best sports host or analyst.

Other notable Bell Media nominees include MuchMusic’s 'Degrassi,' as best children’s or youth fiction program or series, and 'The Juno Awards 2012' and the '2012 MuchMusic Video Awards' for best music, variety, sketch comedy or talk program or series.

The awards will be handed out on March 3.